1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unfairly accused ... don't stand a chance

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by byronipuss, Oct 7, 2018.

1. byronipuss

byronipuss New commenter

A mother has accused me (to the head) of pulling her five year old's arm ..... ***???? This little boy wants his mummy all the time and is hardly ever in school. I have only taken him twice and gone out of my way to be kind, make him laugh, include him in my teaching, letting him get ready for home first and be first in the line to go home. Mum's own experience of education has been very negative and she can neither read nor write. I am a supply teacher. The headteacher has been really lovely and supportive but, at the end of the day, a formal complaint has been made - which has to be reported to the appropriate authorities. There have been no witnesses (because it didn't happen), there are no marks on his arm, the mother won't speak to me direct and allow me to speak up for myself. She has taken the boy out of school and says he will not be coming back ... She has her own agenda. I am obviously a scapegoat and I won't be going back to that school (which I loved and, dare I say, they loved me) It's her word against mine so I don't have a leg to stand on. This begs the question ... What earthly chance do we stand if a student or parent takes a dislike to us or decides to use us as an excuse for something they could not easily do otherwise (she' wants her little boy to move to a school nearer to his siblings) How well I know that sick feeling in the pit of your stomach. The whole business stinks.

2. Flanks

Flanks Senior commenter