1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unfair treatment? Want to leave :(

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by united10, Oct 30, 2017.

1. united10

united10 New commenter

Hi,

I will try to keep this concise. I'm a qualified teacher but chose to work as a TA, due to workload/stress.
    I have only been at my school half a term and feel as though I'm being targeted by management. That aside (I don't want to be too specific), I have a few main queries which I would appreciate advice for.

A member of SMT asked someone to "sneak" into my cupboard to get some books for lessons I cover. This person didn't play along, but I plan, teach and mark to the best of my ability and have no idea why someone would do this. Lack of trust? Looking for something to tell me off for?

Apparently, due to two "incidents", which in my opinion were non-issues, my behaviour management is of concern and I will be placed on a "support plan". I don't think there is any capability issue and I think they will set me up to fail.

The language used towards me by the head has, in my opinion, been patronising and demeaning. She once told me off in front of another member of staff. I feel as though I can do nothing right.

I'm familiar with policies relating to teachers but not TAs. Please could anyone help with capability/disciplinary policies. I'm an NUT member - now NEU of course.

Finally, if I decide to leave - what is the notice period?

Not very concise in the end. Sorry! Any help appreciated.

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Established commenter

You need access to your school's disciplinary policy which should be accessible to you - perhaps in the staff handbook, which is likely to be electronic.