1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Undergrads as tutors?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Steph2002, Oct 18, 2017.

1. Steph2002

Steph2002 New commenter

I notice some online agencies only employ you if you are CURRENTLY studying at uni!
    I have been teaching and examining A level for 20 years.
    Consider myself way more qualified than them to help students !!
    Do I have to do this self employed, without an agency?

2. decj

decj New commenter

It's shocking how many people who don't have qualified teacher status are setting themselves up as tutors. I've seen adverts in which 'A' students are offering tuition from primary to GCSE level and even grammar school entry tests. A Tesco magazine some years ago had an article on how to make a few extra quid on the side. Yes, you've guessed it - they suggested becoming a tutor!
    Argh!

3. doctoryes

doctoryes New commenter

There are plenty of on-line websites that do differentiate between those with relevant degrees, teaching qualifications, those with examiner experience etc and students.
    Many parents have limited funds and choose undergrads on the basis of their hourly rate being cheaper. This strategy may be flawed as a good teacher should be able to identify problems and solve them in a shorter amount of time. But although some undergrads obtain work by undercutting prices, there are other charging the same amount as qualified teachers. The other difficulty is that changes in specifications may mean that some topics are unfamiliar to undergrads.
    The other area that I find annoying is that some of these students advertise on the basis that they have A*s at GCSE and A level, whereas these grades didn't exist a few years ago.