1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

UK v Australia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Buttles, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Buttles

Buttles New commenter

I worked as a teacher in the UK and emigrated to Australia in 2010 luckily without the need for a visa.
    I was relieved to leave the UK after the disastrous years of Blair and Brown. Like many people I felt appalled at the growing levels of violence, poverty and corruption in the UK.
    The biggest shock was the higher cost of living in Australia especially the prices in supermarkets for basic foodstuffs.
    I was also amazed at the cost of fruit and vegetables in a country famous for agriculture and dairy farming. When Cyclone Yasi destroyed the banana crop in Queensland there was no attempt by the country to import bananas to avoid sky rocketing prices.
    House prices and rents are much, much higher in Australia. When I arrived in 2010, the cost of housing in a country many times larger than the UK led me to conclude that market manipulation through the deliberate refusal to build new homes was artifically inflating prices.
    Just as with the UK, the quality of education children enjoy over here is linked to location with the poorer suburbs generating the same type of white, unemployable youth as any UK city. Pay and conditions for teachers have not kept up with medicine, law and engineering. Few teachers I know under 40 own their own home.
    The private school sector is much bigger in Australia but there is a bias towards hiring cheap, overseas (Indian mostly) teachers on short-term contracts.
    The health service over here is not as good as some NHS services and you will wait a very long time for an operation in a state hospital.