1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

UK teaching for an Australian

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by dclaxton34, Dec 30, 2017.

1. dclaxton34

dclaxton34 New commenter

I'm a casual primary teacher in Sydney and I've been thinking about getting more experience in the UK. My long-term goal is to get a temporary or permanent job in Sydney (so far no luck). I'm 40 years old and I don't have the right of abode (my parents were born in Australia, my Dad's parents were from Austraila while my Mum's were born in India but are ethnically British however I don't think the UK immigration office consider them to be British). I was just wondering if anyone can tell me if I can legally do a short-term contract in the UK with a school? For those who have taught in the UK, are there many differences in the classroom in regards to students, behaviour management, etc.?

2. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

You might be better asking in the Overseas trained teachers forum. This forum is aimed at UK teachers working abroad.

3. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

In order to get a work visa you'd need to have an individual school sponsor it, which is unlikely to happen as primary teachers are not rare in the UK, you don't have any experience of the UK curriculum, and it might be costly/time consuming for a school to process a visa. I have colleagues from NZ and Australia (I work in an international school) - from what I gather, teachers from NZ/Oz do not seem to be held as accountable for students' results as we are in the UK (I could be wrong!), and SLT seem to micromanage teachers more in the UK (just my impression).