1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

UK Riots: Can they be used as Case Study material

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by fluffyhandbag, Aug 16, 2011.

1. Dear all,
    Firstly can I apologise in advance if this post offends anyone on this forum.
    As an individual I am as appalled as anyone else by the criminality of this event, but as a media teacher I'm not afraid to admit I'm fascinated by the potential applications of this material as part of the A2 media syllabus (specifically OCR board)
    Like many of you, I really don't have a team of individuals to bounce ideas off re this issue, therefore the question I'm posing is very simple and meant to generate ideas and trains of thought;
    How would you use this material as part of your teaching and how would you make it specifically fit the specifics of the A2 qualification of the OCR board?
    Right now I can think about it fitting in several of the catogories collective identity, we media, even postmodernism, but I can't see the wood for the trees and need to narrow down my thinking
    As always, thank-you to anybody who chooses to contribute to this discussion .

2. Dear all,
    Firstly can I apologise in advance if this post offends anyone on this forum.
    As an individual I am as appalled as anyone else by the criminality of this event, but as a media teacher I'm not afraid to admit I'm fascinated by the potential applications of this material as part of the A2 media syllabus (specifically OCR board)
    Like many of you, I really don't have a team of individuals to bounce ideas off re this issue, therefore the question I'm posing is very simple and meant to generate ideas and trains of thought;