1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

UAE expected salary

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by zoe_ccole, Feb 12, 2020.

1. zoe_ccole

zoe_ccole New commenter

Hi,
    I am currently in the process of looking for jobs in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. I have 2 years post qualification experience so I am now wondering what type of salary should I expect?
    Also, I have been told to never accept the first offer, always negotiate. But by how much? What is a realistic amount more to ask for?

Thank you

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

The scummy schools might "negotiate", zoe_ccole, but proper schools tend to have something called a "salary scale". Where you will be on this scale depends on your qualifications and experience, not on your negotiating skills.

Comparisons between salaries in the UAE and in the UK can be hopelessly misleading and unhelpful. Rubbish schools will pay badly and well-established and properly run schools might be a bit more generous. On the whole, salaries in the UAE have stagnated over the last six or seven years and therefore it is no longer the best place to go if you want to colleact a huge pile of cash.

Another point to bear in mind is that the salary is only part of the overall "package". Perhaps it could be argued that it might not even be the most important part.

If the first salary offer is acceptable, even generous, then I would grab it. Some schools have been known to withdraw offers of employment when teachers try to drag their feet.

Although it was rather a long time ago, I still remember making the move into international schools. It can be a bit of a minefield. I have sent you on of those TES Conversations.

3. taiyah