1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Two years out of the classroom - would I need a refresher?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by dav1970, Feb 12, 2018.

1. dav1970

dav1970 New commenter

Hi - I’ve been out of the year 6 classroom for almost two years now (Circumstances in my personal life meant a return to my old career in IT). Call me insane but I’m yearning for it again at the ripe age of 48. I was a year 6 teacher for 6 years, literacy leader and acting deputy head. If I considered applying for jobs for a September start, do you think I would need some kind of curriculum refresher course? Or has not a great deal changed since May 2016? Thanks for your time, D

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

You're insane.;)
    Stuff has changed since 2016, but not that much. Spend a couple of hours with the right practitionier and you'll see what's changed. See if you can go into a school for a couple of days.

I'm saddened slightly at the premise of this post - that a mature and experienced teacher has been suckered into believing that two years out of the job renders them half out of date and past it,.
    Children are still children. 9x7 is stiil 63 (unless you're a politician).

3. peakster

peakster Star commenter

Go and do something else - stay away from teaching.

dav1970 likes this.
  4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

God advice and I doubt there are any 'refresher courses' running these days. You have enough experience t be able to do te research needed to 'update' yourself'