1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Twitter a waste of time?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jhagan99, Oct 7, 2018.

1. jhagan99

jhagan99 New commenter

Not really a dilemma this, but what does everyone else think about class Twitter profiles? I have never used social media in school before and rather resent that in my new position I am expected to post pictures and news of my class's activities constantly. I really think my time could be better used and am not entirely comfortable that it's something I should be doing. It's not something I've encountered before. Seems like just another exercise in appearing to be doing a great job instead of just getting on with the important things. Is my new school unusual or do I need to get with the times?

Jamvic likes this.
  2. hs9981

hs9981 Lead commenter

Depends on the age group in question.

If it's younger children, it's nice for parents to see what they've been doing during the day. It takes 5 minutes to do it. Good PR win-win (as long as the parents don't mind photos being posted).

3. sparklepig2002

sparklepig2002 Star commenter

My school does this. Each class has a twitter week. The parents love it. All photos are taken from an angle where the children can't be identified.

4. altally

altally New commenter

We are expected to do it. I have about 3 parents who follow. Its main purpose seems to be so that the head has something to put in the newsletter! I think posting to Facebook would be much better as more parents use that.

5. jhagan99

jhagan99 New commenter