1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

tutoring writing to reluctant young child

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by coaltown1, Jun 9, 2011.

1. coaltown1

coaltown1 New commenter

So alone!
    So very alone!!
    [​IMG]

2. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Occasional commenter

I am sorry you feel so alone!

My contribution is very limited, as I am secondary trained but have worked a lot in JMI and special needs. In one infant school as a class teacher I was instrumental in getting one pupil statemented so that extra resources and teaching assistance could be provided.

In my private tuition now I find some parents do not like to be told that their child may be SN, but I strongly advise them to consult with their school for this to be investigated. Far too many children are not attended to in their early years, leaving them continually behind.

As far as your own work with this child, you must build up total confidence and enjoyment in him for your lessons, even if you appear to be overly friendly by playing lots of games. One-to-one this should not be too difficult, and report back to the parents every little concern you come across whilst working with him.

Not being trained nor qualified in this work, I might prompt others to respond!

3. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Occasional commenter