1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tutoring through an agency or independently?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by nhdut15, Feb 20, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm currently a supply teacher and was considering branching out into private tuition to earn some extra cash. However, I was wondering, is it better to do it independently or through an agency?
    Does anyone know of any good agencies if that's the better option? Or are there any good websites where I can advertise as an independent tutor?
    Thank you in advance for any help. [​IMG]
    Nhdut15

2. Ravena

Ravena New commenter

Hi Nhdut,
    It depends what you means by 'agency'. There are some organisations such as First Tutors, Tutor Hunt and tutors4me where you can sign up for free, build an online profile for free and then they will send you emails on behalf on prospective students. First Tutors makes its money from charging an introduction fee to the student, for example. These organisations are certainly worth joining.
    Other organisations charge you a yearly fee to advertise your profile online such as The Tutor Pages - also worth considering.
    Then there are actual agencies who will take a cut of your hourly pay (UK tutors, I think?) - I personally don't use these, but I assume that many tutors do.
    Best of luck.

3. Hello There,
    I was in the same position as you a few months ago and have tried a few different options. Most agencies ask for a registration fee, and from my own experience I don't think I got enough work through to make it justify the large upfront payment.