1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tutee finished after almost 2 years, parents didn’t even say thank you! Am I silly for being upset?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Flexiblesink32, Jan 27, 2019.

1. Flexiblesink32

Flexiblesink32 New commenter

I have been tutoring a child for almost 2 years and have just finished the last session. I don’t expect a big fanfare or anything but some kind of thank you would be nice! The child has special needs and I have had to work really hard to deliver lessons that fit the child’s needs both academically and physically. The parents have always been happy with progress and it is me who gave notice to end the sessions.

I just feel a bit deflated!

yelena_davydova6 likes this.
  2. alsoamum

alsoamum New commenter

Maybe they are upset that you have notice? Still would have been nice to say thank you though.

Kateray1 likes this.
  3. gainly

gainly Established commenter

I think you just have to accept that some people are like that. Sometimes I've had cards and presents when I finish, sometimes not even a thank you.

You didn't say why you gave notice. Might they have been upset if they'd hoped to continue?

yelena_davydova6 and Kateray1 like this.
  4. golpep78

golpep78 New commenter

Some people may not know the common courtesy of saying "thank you", "sorry", or "please". It may come off as awkward for them. I would just be understanding as expecting that from someone, not getting a reply, and then being upset is a bit over the top. It's not worth the extra stress in life. I'd just move on and appreciate the time you got to spend with the family.

Mermaid7 likes this.
  5. briancant

briancant Occasional commenter

"Am I silly for being upset?"