1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Turn down job offer already accepted

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by janem42, Feb 24, 2018.

1. janem42

janem42 New commenter

this is on behalf of a friend who is NQT plus 1. I am an experienced teacher who mentored her through NQT year.we both teach in an independent school-I have been out of state system for years, hence the query
    Friend has accepted job in a free school which only has children up to year 10. Communication from the school has been bad so she only accepted yesterday-it was a letter with a whole list of conditions ( subject to satisfactory references etc). Not a contract.job start sept.
    Now another school she really likes but didn't have an opening when she got in touch before has contacted her and said they have a vacancy for sept and is she interested.
    So question is, can she pull out of first school at this stage? Without damaging career prospects/ being blacklisted?she is in a terms notice and has handed notice in.we both teach maths.she is an excellent teacher.

2. jago123

jago123 Established commenter

When you accept a job offer it is legally binding, whether you have signed a contract or not. They would need to speak to the HT about this and they could potentially sue them for breach of contract.
    Question is though, they want to withdraw the job acceptance even though they haven’t got the job at that other school yet and I’m assuming they have already handed in their resignation which could put them at a massive risk.
    1) Resignation tendered at current job
    2) Cancellation of job acception at new job
    3) Unsuccessful at securing job at desired school