1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trying to rescue a home-schooled 15-y-o

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by doreen_pechey, Jun 24, 2020.

1. doreen_pechey

doreen_pechey New commenter

I am a retired self-isolating teacher of Mathematics (I taught Maths in grammar schools, a tertiary college, and degree-level communications theory), so for fun (?) I offered to tutor a friend's home-schooled 15-year-old. He should take an IGCSE next year. I am now "seeing" him (Zoom) four afternoons each week. His parents don't like Maths!

They started him on a USA programme (trapezium v trapezoid, right-angle triangle v right triangle, etc. !?!?!?), but stopped for some reason. I vetoed the USA programme. I am trying to give him interesting work, but I also go back to Key Stage 2 for what he has missed. I have found past papers for him. He is actually quite bright, but not yet where Maths is concerned.

He is now learning his multiplication tables (I test him on some at the beginning of each session), but still cannot do division. For example, he knows 3 times 5 is 15, but ask what 15 sweets shared between 3 people is, and he just guesses. I have got him to the stage where he doesn't freeze when percentages are mentioned - I had to teach him those because he was doing a different GCSE that needed percentages and data graphs.

I got two second-hand copies of David Rayner's "Core Mathematics for IGCSE", but they are very slightly different editions, so I cannot refer him to an exercise in his edition :-( His family is also self-isolating.