1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trying to make a teaching career in the UK as an international teacher.

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by mhkhoja1, Jun 5, 2018.

1. mhkhoja1

mhkhoja1 New commenter

Hey guys,

So to start off, I am a teacher in Pakistan but have done a Bachelors and Masters from the UK, as well as A-levels and O-levels in Pakistan before uni.

I started teaching primary school science in January 2018, and have thus changed jobs to teach Secondary level Mathematics and English Literature come August at another school.

Starting with the immigration laws, currently Secondary Level Mathematics is one of the jobs in the shortage occupation list and thus an employer does not have to do a resident market test and has to just prove that my salary is above GBP 20,800 to qualify for a Tier 2 visa, which from what I understand is easily offered for secondary level mathematics.