1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trying to find an NQT job for September from abroad

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by jessicamarias, Oct 17, 2019.

1. jessicamarias

jessicamarias New commenter

Hello,

I graduated from the Secondary MFL PGCE in 2017 and have since been working in a British International School abroad (which doesn't offer NQT). My contract is due to end this June and I am looking for a job to start in September in the UK.

I have only small windows of time to come back for interviews (4th - 11th April which I'm pretty sure is Easter holidays in the UK too) and mid June onwards. I would have to come back to Colombia and stay until the end of July for other reasons so it would be a risk to buy tickets for June and then not get any interviews.

What are the chances of being offered an interview mid June to start work in September?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

No, I do not think that this is a good idea. Why not get a teaching job at another international school, perhaps somewhere in Europe? Most schools in the UK do not do SKYPE interviews, so it would be a lot easier going to another international school. In addition, I get lots of e-mails and messages from teachers in the UK who want to leave and go overseas. Send me one of those TES Conversations and perhaps I can of some help.

3. jessicamarias

jessicamarias New commenter

Hi hippo,