1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Try for a family as a trainee or nqt?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Msn101, Jan 31, 2019.

1. Msn101

Msn101 New commenter

hi all, I’m currently a trainee teacher doing my first year of BA primary Ed. I was diagnosed with 2 separate medical issues meaning it’s likely I’m infertile. I was told by my doctors to try for a family as soon as possible if I want to have any chance of having a family (I was 16!) I’ve held it off until now (I’m 20) but I’ve exhausted all treatment options, and it’s getting worse.

I honestly don’t know what to do and it’s getting me so down. Do I try for a baby now, meaning I have a baby at uni (this is assuming I can have one) but deal with the stress of trying to navigate a full time course or decide whether to defer a year, or wait until I’m in my third year and let it run into my nqt year. Obviously the later I leave it the lower my chances are as this disease is constantly spreading. I’ve always wanted my own children, but I really worry that the work load will be too much and I’ll give up, which I really really don’t want to do.

I have a boyfriend who is a teacher and can help me financially, my parents who have known I would be trying for a family Young have offered to support me, but I don’t know what to do and I am so torn, any advice would be so so appreciated.
    Thank you

2. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

Don't put off having a life for the sake of whats just a job.

3. Lalad

Lalad Star commenter

It's a no-brainer. Try for a baby now, before it's too late.

mothorchid, Msn101 and agathamorse like this.
  4. InkyP

InkyP Star commenter