1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Treated like a trainee teacher

Discussion in 'Primary' started by s0700452, Apr 9, 2012.

1. I am in my second year of teaching and I am still getting treated like a trainee teacher. All the teachers seem to view me as incapable and never really give me any responsibilities.
    I guess I have brought this on myself because I am not the most assertive person and I do lack in confidence. There is a senior management position going and a member of staff said laughing 'I vote you do it' as if that would be really funny because I am not able to do it.
    When ever someone wants to know what is going on in my year group they ask the other teacher in the year group, never me.
    I thought it might be because of my age (24) but there is another teacher who is 25 and started the year before me who doesn't get treated like this. She is a very good teacher and seems to get more respect from the staff. Maybe I reading too much into this.
    Is this normal? Do I need to step up my game?

2. I would hope trainee teachers aren't treated in any negative way!
    It's a bit difficult to answer on the information you've given.
    Perhaps this member of staff is just tactless or didn't realise how you might take their words to heart. I certainly wouldn't have been willing or ready to take on SMT position in my second year so I don't think it was a criticism
    What sort of queries? Who is that other teacher? Have they been at the school longer? Perhaps people are more used to going to them.