1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trapped time

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Rachel2812, Feb 8, 2020.

1. Rachel2812

Rachel2812 New commenter

Hi everyone,

I’m hoping someone can help answer a question about trapped time in my timetable - I haven’t been able to find the answer to my exact situation anywhere else!

I am a full time secondary teacher teaching 44 hours out of 50. One of my lessons didn’t fit in my timetable so I was asked to teach it at the end of the school day 3pm - 4pm (the school day finishes at 3pm). In return I’ve been given an extra free on my timetable on a Friday morning period 1.

The hour on Friday is my time I’m getting back for teaching the hour after school but it is currently trapped in my timetable. I have to be in school for form time on Friday morning so have to be in school during that free hour.

My question is: should I be able to come in later on that Friday morning and have my form time covered?

thanks in advance for any replies

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

The students in the class have to stay behind an extra hour on Friday when everyone else has gone home? I'm surprised they didn't complain!

I'm not sure what you describe is trapped time. Sounds like it's directed time. Are free periods generally, for all staff, part of their 1265 hours directed time (assuming you are on STPCD conditions)? Can staff leave the premises during free periods?

If the free period at the start of Friday is in directed time then by adding an extra period at the end of Friday have they exceeded your 1265 hours?