1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Transition from Secondary to Primary

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by s2341, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Dear all,

I have taught in secondary school but have not passed my NQT (long history and probably can't go into detail on here) and was having a serious consideration in transferring to primary.

I am primarily a music teacher at secondary level and my pgce covers from 11 years to 18 years of age. I haev primary volunteer experience for 1 year, brownies leading experience for 8 years and drop in volunteer for other primary sectors.

Anybody got any ideas how I can get into this? Secondary is definately not the place for me but I do enjoy teaching the younger ones. At the time I did not get the degree level required to enter a primary PGCE and all of the courses were full when the university said no (they told me late) and I got a spot on a secondary course. I go have my QTS and compelted all of the tests as well.

I would love to do what it takes to get there. Would I need to start again or is there a transition course or could I even just apply with my relevant experience?

Any help is much appreciated,

s2341

2. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide

QTS does allow you to teach at either phase and currently there are no formal retraining routes . It is largely a matter of finding a job-this would have to be an induction post and no allowances are made for teaching in a different phase. Music is obviously of interest to primary schools however you need to show that you have the capacity to teach a wider curriculunm as a class teacher. I have often found secondary traned teachers in upper primary particularly Yr 6.