1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

transferrable skills of a teacher...

Discussion in 'Personal' started by sparklyeyes, Feb 11, 2011.

1. I know that as a teacher I have many skills that are transferrable. However, when applying for jobs outside of teaching I am (almost) at a loss at how to actually write them up? Hope this makes sense. What I want to know is this - are there people/agencies/career advisors that we are able to go to to get good advice on how to write a really good CV/covering letter?
    I live just north of Manchester so if there is anywhere that you know of I can investigate further.

Thanks in advance.

2. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

Wigan has a skills centre in the Grand Arcade that offer a CV service, other town may have them? A few online companies will also offer this service (for a fee)
    Skills: Organization, Prioritising, Good People Skills, Ability to deal with a range of 'customers' (children, parents, other staff), Flexible, ICT skills... LOADS more too x

3. lurk_much

lurk_much Occasional commenter

What about your base qualification?
    What are you, artist, scientist, mathematician?

4. I've taught History and English in the nine years that I've been a teacher. I also mark GCSE History.

5. No, really.
    There are a hundred applicants for anything you apply for, who have hands-on, direct recent experience of exactly the post you are interested in, not some waffly experience you picked up in a completely different job.
    Never has a huger myth been perpetrated than the value of "transferable skills" in a jobs market dominated by employers.