1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TRANSFER FROM SECONDARY TO PRIMARY & GETTING INTO LEADERSHIP?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by amir8586, May 23, 2019.

1. amir8586

amir8586 New commenter

Dear all,

I am wanting to transfer from secondary teaching into primary, how hard will this be? i've 8 years of secondary education experience and want to get into a leadership role within the primary setting. I don't think I can apply via the gov website for future leaders as I do not officially have a current leadership title as we have a divisional structure in my school and not a subject departmental structure. I am doing all the duties a HOD would do and feel I have more than the required experience.

Can anyone guide me in the right direction please? any advise would be great.
    Many thanks.

2. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

Try and get a job as a primary teacher, once you’re successful, learn what you can, gain experience and develop credibility, then apply for leadership posts.

Simple!

Piranha, DYNAMO67, MissKitCat and 3 others like this.
  3. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

Trouble is, primary teachers have to know the difference between a verb and a noun.

4. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

Everybody displays minor irregularities or "errors" in their language sometimes.
    No one of us is perfect.
    I'm not sure if your comment is irrelevant or risky.

DYNAMO67 likes this.
  5. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter