1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide in the welcome lounge and help forum.

Training to work in the independent sector?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Homeeducator2011, May 22, 2016.

1. Homeeducator2011

Homeeducator2011 New commenter

hello,
    I would like to know if there are independent schools that train their own teachers (something similar to school direct, but in the independent sector). I am very new to this. Thank you

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

United Learning - a group with both independent schools and Academies, runs ITT through its United Teaching scheme. There may well be others.

Best wishes

3. Homeeducator2011

Thank you very much, it looks brilliant!

4. Alldone

Alldone Occasional commenter

[This comment/image/section has been removed to preserve poster anonymity]

Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2016
  5. asnac

asnac Occasional commenter

@Alldone, your post potentially identifies you. You might want to delete it.

6. Alldone

Alldone Occasional commenter

[This comment/image/section has been removed to preserve poster anonymity]

Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2016
  7. ndugu

ndugu New commenter

Cognita schools ran the Buckingham University PGCE for their own staff who were graduates. Not sure whether this is an option?

8. Homeeducator2011

Thank you, I didn't know about Cognita schools. Buckingham university is too far for me unfortunately :-(

9. Snorkers

Snorkers New commenter

Our trainees do the Buckingham PGCE course (based in school) and there are two routes - one that confers QTS and one that doesn't. The former requires a teaching placement in a state school, whereas the latter is independent-only.

10. rdickste

rdickste New commenter