1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trainee teacher starting teaching placement soon- quick questions

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Jan 14, 2011.

1. I'm a trainee primary teacher and I'm starting my teaching placement soon. I have two quick questions to ask and would really appreciate any advice people could give.
    1. What do I need to the teacher of the class I've been placed in when I see them, apart from a class list, list of children in each group so I can differentiate according to ability and a copy of the class timetable? I have a massive block placement coming up and want to be as prepared as possible.

2. How can I make a really good impression?

Thanks!

2. Sorry, question 1 was meant to read 'What do I need from the teacher..'
    I don't normally make careless mistakes. I'm just really tired today.

3. cally1980

cally1980 Established commenter

Find out what schemes of work they follow and ask to see the long term plan for the year and the medium term plan for the next half term. I would also like to see the current Teacher Assessments just to get an idea of where each child is at.

The best way to make a good impression is to get stuck in I suppose! Use your prep time to really get to know the kids, read ahead on the planning so you can input your ideas and (depending on the mentor) be innovative - fresh eyes and total enthusiasm is the greatest strength trainee's/NQT's come in with.

Good Luck!

4. Find out the staff room seating plan. [​IMG]

5. cally1980

cally1980 Established commenter