1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trainee teacher burnout

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by TT219, Feb 15, 2020.

1. TT219

TT219 New commenter

I have 4 months left of my teacher training course and I have such bad anxiety that I feel like leaving the course. I have just started my second placement in KS2 and feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I am working myself into the ground, not sleeping and feel so overwhelmed with everything that I have to do in the next few months. I am petrified of messing this last but up and don't know if I can cope. I am a mature student and have two children. Is anyone else in the same position?

2. br0wnsugar

br0wnsugar Occasional commenter

Teacher training is tough. No doubt about it. One of the plus sides to it is that you can and will get through simply because you have ambition and want to carve out a career that will stand you in good stead for years to come. It gets easier but it has to be acknowledged that having two children can add immense pressure and sometimes parent guilt due to the amount of time you need to spend on all the responsibilities and unnecessary admin that goes with teaching. It can be overwhelming. One place I can signpost you to is Education Support. There is a link on this forum with a phone number where you can call and release how you feel and be given some sound advice and specific guidance which may help you get through the coming months. Alternatively, go onto Internet and type in Ed Supp and get details there. It's worth a try. Good Luck.

Edit =