1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Trailing non-teacher spouse to Asia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by SoyaCoffee, Sep 12, 2020.

1. SoyaCoffee

SoyaCoffee New commenter

I’m a British newly qualified teacher (PGCE QTS) with a BA Hons and TEFL. In a year or two I really want to teach in China, Thailand, Hong Kong or Japan. Or any other Far East/South Eastern Asian country. However, my partner doesn’t have a degree. He has other qualifications, but I’m unsure whether he can still get a work visa. He doesn’t want to be a teacher so surely a lack of degree won’t matter when applying to other jobs?

Has anyone moved with their spouse to one of these countries? Did the school help find accommodation for you to share? Was your spouse able to get a work visa?

Thanks in advance.

2. lucyrose50

lucyrose50 Occasional commenter

My husband and I were in the same situation when we moved to Malaysia, he does have a degree but isn't qualified for a specific profession. He initially hoped to find a job here, but had no success before we left the UK nor when we arrived, largely because the jobs available in his area of experience (Science/Chemistry) were poorly paid and it honestly wasn't worth him taking a job like this when it wouldn't add much to our finances as we could happily live on just my wage, and the limited annual leave would mean that he'd have far less holiday than me, and one of the reasons we moved abroad was for the travel opportunities. Instead, he's been doing volunteer work which he has found far more rewarding and interesting than the sort of job he would have been qualified to do.