1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tracking Enhanced Provision

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by mrbennett91, Mar 3, 2018.

1. mrbennett91

mrbennett91 New commenter

Hi all,

I'm a student teacher that's recently moved into Reception class, and I've enhanced areas of our continuous provision to link with our theme - Dinosaurs! The learners respond positively to having the freedom to roam around the class and connect with activities as they please, however I've quickly found that some are 'completing' everything quite quickly, spend very little time in each area, or avoid certain areas altogether. What I end up with is some learners with lots of wonderful evidence of learning, and some that have completed very little!

Naturally I would like to address this in my provision planning, but there's no system in place at the moment to keep on track of who's-done-what and who's-been-where. So I was wondering if anyone had any strategies/methods they could recommend of tracking what activities an early years learner has completed? Anything that would make it much clearer to see which areas learners have engaged with and which areas they've avoided!

Thanks!

2. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter

Hi there. We'l done on recognising that some areas are not as well used and some children are not really engaging with what' on offer.
    You don' really need to track where every child has been and what they have done, you would slowly lose the will to live. The key is to know when to track (if ever), what that will achieve and what to do with what you find out.