1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tracking and Monitoring

Discussion in 'Assessment' started by jnrblues, Oct 12, 2015.

1. jnrblues

jnrblues New commenter

Morning all,

I am considering leaving my post as assistant head at a Secondary Academy. I have no experience outside of education, but have tackled most roles within schools during my career. I wanted to float an idea on here to see if there was any uptake.

Would anyone be interested in having someone with an education background develop tracking and monitoring systems for all of their students/subjects to remove some of the onus from data analysis. I could set up systems that will look at gaps in skills and knowledge and identify not only which students are underachieving but how.

I know there are already systems out there that you can buy in but I have worked with lots of these systems over the years and have always resorted back to making my own versions.

I would appreciate any comments or advice that anyone has.

Thanks,

Chris.

2. Joliroja

Joliroja New commenter

Hi jnrblues,

I would suggest the reason you've always come back to using your 'own versions' is exactly the same reason everyone else does too... we all read and interpret data in a different way. I would advise that you are taking a huge gamble that is incredibly unlikely to pay off.
    There are some very big players out there in assessment and tracking, many of whom have invested significant amounts of money in developing their systems. There are several systems that will do around 95% of what schools want, but the other 5% is for people to develop their 'own versions' in order to apply them to their own school, students, teachers and contexts.