1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Top set classes being taken away from me because I had time off sick

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by CandyHowes, May 23, 2011.

1. Hi all

Title says it all really. I am an English teacher who also teaches A level Media and KS3 drama (am trained and have experience in both). Before Xmas I had 5 weeks off for a double slipped disc. I teach in a non selective indy school.
    I've been told that next year I will be teaching A level media classes, A level drama (new spec) and will also have yr 10 and yr 11 GCSE English classes. I think that will kill me off!!! I breiefly spoke with my line manager about it today who is not sympathetic and went down the ' it says in your contract any other duties as the Head sees fit' route.
    So, I asked if it would be possible to as least keep my very lovely, very hard working year 8 top set and she replied that she wanted to swap them out because they had been significantly disadvantaged by my absence, whereas at the start of the year she said that I would keep them right through to year 11.The only thing she will ever talk to me about is my bloody absence and the effect it's having. During the time I was off my class did an independent project - that was all!!! They have made at least 1 entire level's progress this year and many have gone up by 2 NC levels. We have such a good relationship (students and parents) and I would hate to lose them as some sort of punishment for being off sick - is this what it is???

Sorry for all the errors that I know people will spot - I am so angry I'm shaking, plus I'm late for playground duty.

Any and all thoughts gratefully accepted

2. langteacher

langteacher New commenter