1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Top 5 Issues Facing Primary School Teachers

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jiggyp, Sep 8, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I'm doing an article on the top 5 issues facing primary school teachers. As a former teacher myself I've got a fair idea about the issues I faced and felt strongly about, assessment pressures and poor communication across school immediately spring to mind. But, I'd be interested to hear what other teachers have to say on the matter. If you could take the time to reply I'd be really greatful. It would be fantastic if you could give some reasons behind your choices but I don't mind if it's just a list! Thanks in advance if you do decide to contribute.

2. 1. Workload
    2. Workload
    3. Workload
    4. Workload
    5. Workload

3. Thanks, I agree. Anyone else up for giving me 5?

4. 1. Excessive planning
    2. Behaviour managment
    3. Paperwork
    4. Extra curricular responsibility
    5. Work/homelife balance

5. Thanks very much for contributing.

6. Parents - if they can't read or string a sentence together, how on earth can the children?

7. roise

roise New commenter

Old computers
    Whiteboard pens that don't rub out
    shortage of laminating sheets

But that's just me

8. I have been teaching for 30 odd years and the issues never ever change.
    1. Workload (it just keeps on growing)
    2.Constantly changing the curriculum (at government and school level).
    3. Assessment (over complexity)
    4. Behaviour (it is getting worse yearly)
    5. Parents (at both ends; pushy and feckless)

9. Pinkflipflop beat me to it! That was EXACTLY what I was going to write! But netsy and lovewine break it down quite well too!