1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Too Soon?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Deans_Body, Nov 5, 2015.

1. Deans_Body

Deans_Body New commenter

When I started teaching I had aspirations of being SENCO. I set myself this as a target for 5-7 years into my career, but also wanted to remain in the classroom as long as possible.
    I work in a school where I feel valued and have built up a good rep for myself. I've been here for 4 years since qualifying
    Cutting to the chase, the SENCO position has become available. I have discussed with the head, who said she'd welcome my application for part time senco, part time class teacher.
    I'm just wondering whether it's a case of perfect job too soon?
    I don't feel experience in SEN is a problem as I have a further 5 years experience of working with SEN children.

Just not sure if i'm ready to leave full time teaching...

Thoughts?
    (I think I've made up my mind - just want others' thoughts)

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Well, my view is that we cannot possibly tell you what would be best as (a) we don't know you and (b) we don't know exactly what the Head wants!

My only suggestion is that (a) you look very carefully at the Job Description and Person Specification to ensure that you meet the criteria, and (b) that when/if you decide to apply, you come over to Jobseekers to ask for advice on the application.

Best wishes

midnight_angel likes this.
  3. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter