1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Too much teacher talk?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by kirstiepaton1848, Oct 15, 2017.

1. kirstiepaton1848

kirstiepaton1848 New commenter

I am a teacher of 20 years in Psychology and Sociology. I had some feedback this week from a member of SLT.

His main feedback was too much 'teacher talk' and there needs to be more writing in the books.

I was introducing a group of 14 year olds to Adorno's theory of the Athoritarian personality. The first task was to complete a sample of questions from his original questionnaire to discuss how he measured personality. . We discussed their responses. I asked their opinions. Students offered their views. We had a discussion. I then explained the theory. An exposition that took about 7/8 mins.

Students then read their textbooks and filled in a worksheet to summarise their understanding. Their worksheet was scaffolded with high order skills of evaluation as well as descriptIve and fact based questions.

I'm at a loss when this is now considered a problem when we use our knowledge to explain complex ideas to young people as 'too much teacher talk'.

Sure, we all know the issues of just talking at kids for hours on end. But to be told that students have to hit pen to paper in every lesson within the first five minutes so they are active seems so ridiculously prescriptive.

Ia talking and listening no longer considered an activity?

If anyone has any research about the importance of verbal exposition in the classroom then please share. I want to challenge this so called pedagogy that students are only learning when they write.

2. lizziescat

lizziescat Star commenter Forum guide