1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Too many children in school nursery

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Riverdream, Jan 30, 2019.

1. Riverdream

Riverdream New commenter

I am a school nursery teacher (I am actually in a jobshare, so there are 2 of us part time, but we're both in the same boat, so for ease, I will say I). The school decided to allow 2yr olds (turning 3 the same term) to join last September. We now have a mix of up to 47 2-4yr olds in one session, with 70 on role in total. I am finding the job hard to cope with, as we are run to maximum ratio (1:13 3yr olds and 1:4 for the 2 yr olds) and we just can't cope. A member of staff is permanently toileting children, whilst the rest of us are trying to keep on top of all the other needs that come with young children. I am expected to monitor, track, assess and write reports for every child (70) and I just don't think it's a fair workload when other teachers in the school have 30 children to manage. I also have a HUGE space to manage, tidy, set up, change displays and keep updated. There is no time in the day for TAs to help with this as we are so busy. I don't think I can cope much longer.
    SLT are aware of every concern that I have raised but say they have no money to help. I think that they are using the children in nursery to generate income for the rest of the school, not just for the nursery staff. 2 years ago, we had half the numbers on our books, They have offered 2 extra hours PPA per week to make up for this, but I also have do do all the Inclusion work in this time too.