1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Toilet policy

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by benfebery, Jul 2, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. benfebery

benfebery New commenter

Hi there. I’m in my 4th year of teaching and I now teach year 6 and I do not let them go to the toilet in lesson time. I had one boy requested to use the toilet straight after lunch which finishes at 1pm and we don’t finish school till 4pm! I refused his 3 requests has he should of gone at lunch. However, I had another request in a pe lesson which was athletics do I let them go in pe lessons or make them hold it in?

Is my policy too strict?

2. Catgirl1964

Catgirl1964 Occasional commenter

Yes, it is too strict! Most people need to use the loo at least every 2-3 hours so let them go, certainly 1 hour + after lunch. It is only reasonable.

Stiltskin and bonxie like this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Depends on the school, the class and the pupil.
    I currently let mine go whenever they ask...but I now teach nursery.
    In year 6 I used to usually let them go if they asked, but for some children, in some years I didn't because I knew they were trying it on.

I worry that a child who clearly needs to go was refused. He first asked at 1pm and you made him wait 3 hours. That is not ok.

I'm equally concerned by your use of 'of' rather than 'have'.

HelenREMfan and Stiltskin like this.
  4. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter

It can depend on the situation, age of the child and what other staff do.