1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To stick to primary / change to secondary history

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by lizzyjohnson1, May 12, 2020.

1. lizzyjohnson1

lizzyjohnson1 New commenter

I’m currently studying to be a primary teacher. I am in my first year but I have had some experience throughout multiple year groups (observing and guided reading) but most of my experience has been in Nursery.

I do love being in the primary setting, but I worry that I will struggle when I’m qualified to teach each subject and be comfortable knowing all that info for every key stage, plus I keep wondering what teaching in secondary would be like.

I’m having second thoughts as to whether I want to continue to train for primary or to change my degree to a history degree & add a pgce on top to teach secondary history as that is my ‘passion’.

I think I’ll always have that ‘what if’ in my head if I just stick to primary.

I just want to know peoples thoughts on teaching primary/secondary - and some advice really! - do I just not feel passionate about primary because I was predominantly in nursery this year?

TIA !
    lizzie

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter

If you are able to switch to a history degree, then you could follow that with either a primary or a secondary PGCE. That would enable you to delay the decision, and hopefully get into both primaries and secondaries by then so you can be more sure.
    It's quite difficult to switch sector once qualified, as you cannot do a second PGCE, but you'll be competing for jobs with people who have trained for that sector. Neither history nor primary are shortage areas, so there will be competition.

agathamorse likes this.
  3. emerald52