1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To spell or NOT to spell ???

Discussion in 'Primary' started by diploma_98, Jul 2, 2012.

1. i am an old teacher working in Egypt for the past 36 years.. i have seen NEW methods come and go. The one that really GETS my goat is the one that lets pupils in Primary one spell as they like... example boy is boye.. or name is naym. The teacher in Primary one lets them spell how they like , and so when they come up to me in Primary 2 they write all words wrong!!
    Who agrees with me that THIS method is not good enough, from the start they MUST learn the correct way to spell !!!

2. i am an old teacher working in Egypt for the past 36 years.. i have seen NEW methods come and go. The one that really GETS my goat is the one that lets pupils in Primary one spell as they like... example boy is boye.. or name is naym. The teacher in Primary one lets them spell how they like , and so when they come up to me in Primary 2 they write all words wrong!!
    Who agrees with me that THIS method is not good enough, from the start they MUST learn the correct way to spell !!!

3. colpee

colpee Star commenter

They must learn the correct way to spell, but surely there is a balance to be struck. Constant correction and redoing work can turn children right off writing. With such young children, being able to write something that can be understood (often probably phonetically) is surely something to be praised. Of course the two disciplines are complimentary, but I personally don't think that in primary one, that spelling everything correctly needs to be the focus.