1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To Let or To Pru?

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by Twadugs, Jan 6, 2016.

1. Twadugs

Twadugs New commenter

I am planning to retire a year early so will have a small reduction in my teacher pension benefits.
    I paid into Pru AVCs over a period of about 8 years. My choices would be -
    a) Cash in the AVC total (avoiding 40% tax by staggering withdrawls), add it to my lump sump and purchase a buy-to-let property.
    b) Keep the AVC investment with the PRU (around £1600 per annum).
    If I decide on plan b) how best can I reinvest the lump sum?

2. eljefeb90

eljefeb90 Senior commenter

I've just retired but I'm no expert, but I know that 25% of the AVC pot can be taken tax free, with 75% liable for tax (at 20% if you stagger it correctly). Interest rates for savers are abysmal at the moment, the FTSE fell by 5% in 2015 and hasn't buy-to -let just been hit by additional tax?

It all depends on whether you can cope on your pension and what your attitude to risk is. in these times of low/no inflation chasing massive returns looks like you'll need to take big risks and I , for one, have stuck to rock-solid investments and will be using some of the AVC money to do home improvements/maintenance (as well as going on several holidays!).

3. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

I took the 25% tax free lump sum and invested the rest in an annuity. I know everyone decries annuities but i get about £140 / month and I plan to live a long time. I had only had my AVC for a few years like you.