1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To leave teaching or not

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by codymckee, Oct 29, 2015.

1. codymckee

codymckee New commenter

Hi, I have been having a constant battle with myself for over a month now and I am feeling very stressed. I have been teaching for nearly 10 years and this is the first year I've had a contract (still not permanent though). Previous to this I had 3 set days to work between 2 schools - not permanent again and I was only paid during term time.
    I have a 2 year old baby and I am shell shocked by the volume of work I now have in my full time position. I spend 1-2 hours with baby daily as he goes to bed at 7pm. I leave home at 7am and am home for 5 and iv work to do each night and weekend. I find it all quite over whelming.
    I know I'm not the first mother to work full time with a child/ family but I am debating whether a career in teaching is worth missing out on my family and having a life outside work. I really resent having work to do at home. When I was part time I dreamed of full time. Now I'm full time I can see I had a good balance when part time and I managed to budget well for the holidays.
    I'm obviously going to see out my contract but don't know what is next. Whether too see if part time is an option again or whether to find an alternative career......I have no idea what this would be either. I don't love teaching at all but the pay is good. And if I got part time again it probably wouldn't be permanent. My husband wants another baby too but we have to take finances into account. I just feel very over whelmed and confused. Any advice is gratefully recieved.

2. Joeyriles

Joeyriles New commenter

Hi Cody,