1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To Canadian teachers: Protocol? Timeplan? UK teaching in general??

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by scrobbie, Nov 6, 2004.

1. Hi, I'm a Canadian primary teacher with a BED. I'm currently struggling with the lack of jobs in B.C. I'm considering coming to the UK to teach. All I have read on this site are negative things about teaching in the UK. I need a Canadian perspective!!!! Should I do the agency thing or should I stay in Canada and continue subbing. I hate those freaking 5:30 am calls!!! My father is British so I have dual citizenship so that's why I'm considering the UK. HELP ME PLEASE with ANY advice!!!Thank you!

2. Hi, I'm a Canadian primary teacher with a BED. I'm currently struggling with the lack of jobs in B.C. I'm considering coming to the UK to teach. All I have read on this site are negative things about teaching in the UK. I need a Canadian perspective!!!! Should I do the agency thing or should I stay in Canada and continue subbing. I hate those freaking 5:30 am calls!!! My father is British so I have dual citizenship so that's why I'm considering the UK. HELP ME PLEASE with ANY advice!!!Thank you!

3. Hi Scrobbie - we're here also due to the lack of teaching jobs in Canada - particularly NS and BC.
    When would you be looking to come out here? Email me - hjcbsn822@aol.com

4. shadocg

shadocg New commenter

Scrobbie

I would go for it. It can be frustrating, it can be a real blast, it just depends on the situation you land in and the type of person you are.