1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

To apply or not to apply.....?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by youngjen84, Jan 25, 2011.

1. Hello
    I'm in my 3rd year of teaching and getting itchy feet....a new job has come up at a great school and I've just received the pack through with the person spec. They've listed as "essential" the ability to teach french and german to 'a' level but have asked for a french and/or german teacher. Now, what does this mean exactly?! I only teach at an 11-16 school and have no experience of teaching 'a' level French and only German to KS3 (I've an A Level in it and 1yr of uni but it's a bit rusty now); will this discount me automatically? I have all of the other essential and desirable qualities and I was really keen on applying but now feel a little out of my depth.
    Any suggestions?

Many thanks
    :)

2. Hello
    I'm in my 3rd year of teaching and getting itchy feet....a new job has come up at a great school and I've just received the pack through with the person spec. They've listed as "essential" the ability to teach french and german to 'a' level but have asked for a french and/or german teacher. Now, what does this mean exactly?! I only teach at an 11-16 school and have no experience of teaching 'a' level French and only German to KS3 (I've an A Level in it and 1yr of uni but it's a bit rusty now); will this discount me automatically? I have all of the other essential and desirable qualities and I was really keen on applying but now feel a little out of my depth.
    Any suggestions?

Many thanks
    :)

3. Depends how much time you want to put into it?

Visit the school and ask?

Or just apply anyway?