1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TLR at Academy Trust Primary School

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by HNS, Oct 6, 2019.

1. HNS

HNS New commenter

I am a teacher on Main Pay Scale at an Academy Trust run primary school and have been told that I must take on a Subject Leadership role for the school. I will receive no additional PPA time or TLR payment. My question is: Do I have a choice?

I already work as much in my own time, away from school as I do in school to keep up with paperwork and to attend compulsory after school training meetings. This equates to something like a seventy hour week.

2. peakster

peakster Star commenter

You do have a choice - you find another school.

3. Flanks

Flanks Senior commenter

It is more or less the norm that this happens in primary schools. There is very rarely a layer of middle management, and most of them are too small to have sufficient funds for economy of scale.

4. HNS

HNS New commenter

So, is it the norm for primary teachers to attend three hours of training each week and take home more than twenty hours of paper work to complete at home?
    This teacher feels like there is no work life balance and ultimately will have to suffer in terms of personal health and relationship consequences.

jlishman2158 likes this.
  5. HNS

HNS New commenter

Or find alternative career path....

jlishman2158 and tall tales like this.
  6. shevington

shevington Occasional commenter

Go to another school. Three hours training per week ,what for, ? Speak to your Union. Give up all your free time and good will to the school. Check out how well paid HT and SMT are at your school .

jlishman2158 and tall tales like this.
  7. sooooexcited