1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TLR and PPA

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by Makha, Sep 26, 2008.

1. Hello,

I was wondering if anyone knew what the legal time was for having TLR I know we should get 10% PPA off our timetables but do we need to do our TLR responsibility in that time too? is that possible because I cannot do my planning and subject in 2 hours out of class or do we get time for TLR PE subject coordinating? My head is not helping me and I am new to TLR's, please help!!

2. tafkam

tafkam Occasional commenter

You should be given a reasonable amount of time to discharge the duties you have relating to your TLR-post. Unfortunately, nowhere does it say what 'reasonable' constitutes.

3. I have just been through the school staff handbook and all other subject coordinators get extra TLR time on top of their PPA they also have a shadowing teacher to help them with their subjects, except for PE of course which im doing!! I need the help/time more then anyone else as I am new to coordinating any subject and getting paid for it!

I am going to definately approach the head and I am going to ask him first thing on Monday why he had done this for PE and also why he didn't he tell me my entitlements!

If I don't get that extra time/help then I will throw it all back into the heads face and he can do the PE, I was doing him a favour as he didn't have time to advertise the PE post at the end of summer term and asked me if I would take over from September, even though I worked through the summer organising PE for the new term, my head however did mention last week that I will have a TLR payment for doing PE.