1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Titanic...anyone taught this in KS1 before?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by minnieminx, Jan 25, 2012.

1. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

After reading lots of bits on here, and getting FB updates from tpet I'm excited about teaching the 'titanic' next half term. My HT hasn't said no, so that is more or less yes (I think). Literacy (and ideally maths) need to link to it.

So now I just need some fabulous ideas that will inspire and excite the children as well as convince my Ht that I am a fabulous teacher and my class are making excellent progress. Which is where you lot come in... :)

Any and all ideas gratefully received please.

2. I found it uncomfortable the amount of talk of death that came about.
    There are SO many exciting topics that children LOVE that I just wouldn't bother doing it again - Space, Dinosaurs, Animals of any description....Great Fire of London is a better event based history topic, mine loved that one.

3. And it was a bit lacking in the "fun teaching" department.....big ship, crashed into iceberg, lots of people died. Thats one lesson sorted - what about the rest of the term?

4. rainbowdrop86

rainbowdrop86 New commenter

I've done one lesson on it today as part of polar region topic. I can't imagine doing anymore than that. I moved it forward than originally planned as linked it to cruise ship in Italy at the mo

5. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

No never heard of it, but am looking at the website now, and it looks good. Thank you.

Lots of mine, especially the boys, really like all these sort of historical events. Role play into writing is one of the things we use a lot in my school, so yeps will be doing that.