1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tips wanted - new Head of Dept

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by meggriffin, Apr 4, 2020.

1. meggriffin

meggriffin New commenter

Hiya everyone, in the midst of the Covid-19 madness, I have (via Zoom) been appointed Head of English at a new school. I haven't taught at this school, but I did do a walk around before the school closures. I am now hoping to spend my time planning for a successful start - however I don't really know the best way about this! Do any of you have any tips for making an immediate impact and good impression (obviously cake!) so that staff respect me (as I am new to both the role and the school). Thank you!

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

When does the role take effect? September?
    Get in contact with the current HOD and spend time chatting to them.
    Nearer the time set up a WhatsApp group/Teams meeting/Zoom meeting or similar with the dept and as what they want and think the dept needs.

You really don't need to make an immediate impact, you need to settle in and take time to see what is needed and then move things on gradually and in line with school priorities.

Staff will respect you if you are decent, hardworking, fair, good at your job and take them seriously.

3. tb9605

tb9605 Established commenter

I second what caterpillartobutterfly said.

In the meantime, you could ask to see current Schemes of Work, but more so YOU can get your head around how they are presented, rather than so you can replace/redo them. Ditto whole-school policies surrounding things like marking, feedback, data, assessment, behaviour, etc...

Good luck.

4. catslovelycats