1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tips for a Newbie?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by rehaank, Sep 2, 2018.

1. rehaank

rehaank Occasional commenter

After being effectively driven out of my last (very) successful post as HOD and AHT for Science at a school for 10 and 5 years respectively, I've decided to do some tutoring for the coming year before looking for another post elsewhere.

I'll be teaching A Level Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Maths and Further Maths and i've already gotten a couple of students lined up (one to one sessions - seems fun, less stressful, they seem committed, i think).

SO any tips? I mean, i'm an experienced teacher, but this is of course different to normal teaching of 20 teenagers fuelled by angst (and spots).

Also, my rates i've been told are "too generous"? I'm doing £20 per session per subject. Each session is 1 hour. Apparently this is too little. I don't necessarily want to capitalise on education and charge £50+ (and I know some do) but I do have bills to pay (although my husband's job as a consultant certainly helps!). I've had a few parents say no, as I'm surely not "teaching up to scratch" due to my low fees. A bit crude tbh.

Any comments to help me would be very welcome :)

2. tsarina

tsarina Occasional commenter

Hallo and welcome!

I left a teaching in 2016 and have been tutoring science ks3 and gcse. Here are my top 3 tips:

Tip 1 - open another bank account asap and put all income and expenses from tutoring through it. This makes doing any accounts and tax returns super easy. Also phone hmrc to let them know.