1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tips for A-level teaching

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by Fresa82, Apr 20, 2020.

1. Fresa82

Fresa82 New commenter

Hello,

I'm a trainee currently sat at home, having had my training year cut short. I threw myself into my training with everything I had, so I'm quite happy with what I have got out of it so far. However, I was about to embark on A-level teaching in the summer term, which I obviously now won't have. I have a job lined up for September where I will need to teach French and Spanish to A-level.

My main training school have given me access to their SOW for guidance, but I was wondering if anyone of you have any tips, advice, websites for resources that you'd be willing to share? The school my NQT post is in does not use shared lessons (I mean on a shared drive etc) and each teacher plans their own individual lessons.

TIA :)

2. ChocolateChunk

ChocolateChunk New commenter

I can only speak for AQA, which does not do any Controlled Assessment. Which exam board will you have the students on?

In my experience, A-Level can be very challenging because of needing to fit two years of content: cultural, political, along with grammar too.

Grammar should be the main point of focus as students will not be able to get away from mistakes that they could make in GCSE, even for Higher entries. Students need to be able to write down summaries and essays in an articulate manner whilst answering the question accurately.