1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Timetabling/schedualing software

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by JEJF_JEJF, Dec 3, 2016.

1. JEJF_JEJF

JEJF_JEJF New commenter

Hi All,

I have just started in a new school that is only three years old. So far the role has been very low and so timetabling has been done manualy. Next year the expected role will be 1500 students. I have been asked to take over timetabling,

If anyone is able to detail any experiences thay have with any of the schedualing tools good or bad it would be very useful for me to guide my decision on what tools to use in my school. I am new to timetabling, so would ideally like a package that is easy to use.

I have some basic experience with CMIS, other staff in my current school have been pushing for a package called 'Class A Schedualer' made by longhouse software.

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

Keith Johnson's Timetabler - easy to find with a search engine. The accompanying textbook might be helpful too.
    Ensure that whatever you go for can integrate or communicate with your MIS, be it SIMS, CMIS or whatever.

3. dookiedaveuk

dookiedaveuk New commenter

I would strongly recommend Keith Johnson's Timetabler software, and accompanying book.

You really need to get yourself on a course ASAP. I would recommend 'Mist Services' in Market Harborough, Chris Knights-Branch there is a super guy. Do not leave this too late! March or April at the latest. You need time to draw up a Curriculum plan, Staff loading document, and practice the software.