1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Time to move on... Burnt out classteacher needs to vent

Discussion in 'Primary' started by KindDog, Feb 3, 2011.

1. After 15 years as a class teacher, I finally feel that I can't do this exhausting job any more. I am so sick of all the pointless and time consuming assessment and target setting. I work 3 days a week (job share) but am working all the time when I'm not at school. I'm constantly doing assessment or planning, or studying (for an additional qualification for children with SEN). I dont even feel like I have time to do any house work or cook properly for my young children.
    I am SO ready for a different role.

Just wanted to vent!

2. PS The sad thing is that I enjoy teaching and I'm a talented class teacher (so I'm told) but it's all the extra stuff, outside of lesson time that I can no longer tolerate.

3. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

Just sending you a hug - I think you need it! [​IMG]

4. Thanks :)

5. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

Was in a <u>very</u> similar situation to you. As soon as the children left home I'm afraid I jumped ship and now just do little bits of supply.

6. Well I'm def going to jump ship at the end of the summer. Funny really, as for a few years I've deliberated and debated and worried about making a decision I'd regret. But now I just absolutely know that I am in an untenable situation.

My children are at infant and junior school, btw, so waiting til they leave home would be a long way off!

7. I empathise completely. Am beginning to feel I need to do the same, not sure that I can make it until the end of the summer though.

8. That bad? How come?