1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Time off for interviews

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by balletomane, Dec 3, 2018.

1. balletomane

balletomane New commenter

I'm a part-time teacher on a permanent contract. Until this week I had another job alongside it (fixed-term contract). I need to find other work now that my second contract has expired, as the teaching salary is too low to live on by itself. I really love the school and I don't want to leave. I've been invited to an interview this week, for a part-time evening role in adult education. The snag...my interview is on one of my teaching days, and it can't be moved (I asked).

I've already had a fair bit of time off this term due to my mum being in hospital, and I had a hunch my head would not be happy with a request to miss another afternoon. I asked about it by email and I've had no reply. Tomorrow I'll see them in person. I'm wondering what I should do if it's a no. If I'm not going to be allowed to attend interviews I may just have to look for another job, as I can't get by on £13k a year, not unless I find a way to photosynthesise instead of eating. Has anyone else been in this situation? How did you handle it?

2. 8sycamore

8sycamore Occasional commenter

I think that they don't have to allow the time off, although if others have been allowed to attend interviews in work hours it may be hard to justify a refusal.

All you can do is have a very honest conversation about why you need a second job. Would there be any chance of going full time?

If they refuse, unfortunately you will have to look for another job. It is a difficult situation and I hope you get the time off.

agathamorse likes this.
  3. frustum