1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Time off as caregiver?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by THEYOUNGBARD, Nov 18, 2017.

1. THEYOUNGBARD

THEYOUNGBARD New commenter

My parents live next door and my mother is currently awaiting a stem cell transplant for leukaemia. Parents are both in their 70's. Been told Mum will need 24/7 care for three months after transplant. She will be in isolation at home for this period due to risk of infection being major. I'm a full time primary teacher and wonder if I can take this time off as a caregiver as my Dad won't be able to cope alone? I couldn't afford to do this without pay. Is this something schools would consider or are there any laws to support this request? Thank you.

2. wanet

wanet Star commenter

I doubt you will get this with pay, possibly not even without if hard to replace you. is it possible for your dad to do this with some support.

3. THEYOUNGBARD

THEYOUNGBARD New commenter

Thanks for the reply. Dad could do some caring with support but that support would have to be me. They wouldn't quality for financial assistance for a carer but also, as Mum isn't currently able to work, couldn't afford to fund this themselves. It seems this is, sadly, where we as a nation fall down. We don't acknowledge the importance of caring for family members in a crisis such as this.

4. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

I should hope not if she's in her 70's

You Dad should be able to claim Carer's Allowance.

5. wanet

wanet Star commenter

I also was thinking carers allowance, or someone else coming in to support your dad.

6. ROSIEGIRL

ROSIEGIRL Lead commenter

Weald56 and lindenlea like this.
  7. lindenlea